Thoreau and Other Thoughts

I’ve cracked my knuckles, reset my password, and returned to the wonderful world of blogging. It’s been too, too long.

First and foremost, with the advent of 2016, I’ve been trying to keep a bullet journal. If you’re unfamiliar with a bullet journal, visit http://www.bulletjournal.com because it could easily change your life. Basically, it’s an efficient daily notebook/journaling system to keep track of to do lists, thoughts, and tasks. After learning about this system in early December last year, I found a nice moleskin notebook to put aside for my 2016 bullet journal. I figured that if I was going to start something, what better time to start than January 1st? So, after the ball dropped on New Years Eve, I picked up the journal and worked on it for about an hour – setting up calendars, indexes, and a key of symbols.

January 1st? Successful use of the bullet journal. January 2nd? Yet another successful entry. January 3rd? Three for three! January 4th? School started and the streak ended.

Now while this may call into question my desire and ability to actually commit to a daily journal, I don’t regret stopping my entries. Instead of making myself a list of things to do, I simply went out and did them. I still write myself reminders and agendas on my whiteboard where I can see a bird’s eye view of my day every morning and every night, but I don’t write these same notes in a notebook along with adorable doodles and sketches. In all honesty, I had attempted a bullet journal because of my failed attempts at keeping a regular journal. Did it work? No. Do I wish it worked? Sometimes. But I’ll justify myself with worldly thoughts from my current English curriculum.

We started reading “The Night Thoreau Spent in Jail” in class, and though transcendentalism is really messing with my mind, I’m starting to understand some of the beliefs. I might sound crazy, but if you read the play, you’ll completely understand.

By writing a to do list, am I limiting myself to that to do list? By dwelling on the past in a journal, am I refusing to live in the present? What does that mean for the future? A to do list would tell me how to live, and a journal would tell me how I lived, but none of it lets me BE. And on top of all of this, huckleberries are supposedly better tasting than strawberries.

I’m sorry if that made no sense, but I was channeling my inner Thoreau as he was represented in the play. I think everyone should channel their inner Thoreau once in a while – it’s good for the soul.

To make up for this abrupt ending, I’ll give this post a clean finish with a quote by Thoreau.

“You must live in the present, launch yourself on every wave, find your eternity in each moment.”

Nice, right?

One thought on “Thoreau and Other Thoughts

  1. If we all strive to channel our inner Thoreau, doesn’t that mean we’re actually going against Thoreau’s doctrines by imitating him? Therefore, it is impossible to be both aware of transcendentalism and be a transcendentalist at the same time.

    Like

Leave a Reply

